Where have you been all my life?!

Well not all my life but for the past 3 months you might ask…well as you know I was busy creating a human and then he was born but he came in an eventful way…I was diagnosed with pre-eclampsia at 35 weeks pregnant and I have never had it before which makes it extra ODD…I went for my 35 week check up and my blood pressure was INSANE…I was sent right to the hospital and had to stay over night and then my Dr decided that I would be on bed rest til David was ready to come. At my next appointment with my Dr he told me that I did in fact have pre-eclampsia and that I would be delivering David at 37 weeks…I was to be induced.

On 12/29/15 Tim and I went to the hospital and I got all situated in my room and the pitocin started…the beginning was not that bad as it was slowly given to me and there were plenty of prayers coming my way which I am forever grateful for. I started out at about 3 cm and 80% effaced at 9 a.m. and I was only at 5 cm by 4 p.m. UGH…that was frustrating but I still was not in a lot of pain just normal contractions that were manageable til the Dr broke my water than that is when it got real! The contractions were intense the pain was unbearable at times but I still pushed through it and did my best to  hold off on an epidural as I didn’t have one with Liam so I wanted to try doing that again (I know I am crazy). Around 5 p.m. my Dr came to check me and he told me that if I didn’t get to almost 7 within the next 40 minutes that I should think about getting the epidural because he didn’t know how much longer I’d be going at this…I said OK and thank you but I’m good…until he came back about 50 minutes later and I still hadn’t made much of any progress…I QUICKLY changed my mind and wanted the epidural because I was losing it…the contractions were so close together that I barely had time to recover from one before another came! The nurse kept telling me the anesthesiologist was 15 minutes away…that was not cutting it..it felt like 5 minutes was an eternity!

While I was still waiting to get my epidural I felt like I was ready to push and the last two times I pushed a kid out it was go time when I felt that way…so I told Tim to get my Dr NOW because I was going to start pushing and sure enough…upon his arrival I was ready to go and was pushing and about 1 minute later David Michael was born into our lives!10897973_10100114147905467_6702722654733944333_n

Leave a Reply

